Short Ηistory


The Department of Meteorology and Climatology was founded in 1983 and belongs to the School of Geology, but it exists as laboratory of Meteorology and Climatology of AUTH since 1929. Thus, it has a history of over 85 years producing consistent research along with scientific and educational activities. It has currently eight permanent staff members and operates a MSc program in Meteorology, Climatology and Atmospheric Science. It operates the Aristotle University Meteorological Station since 1930. Additionally, in operation are the Olympus centre (E.K.O.) placed on San Antonios summit (2817 m) in Mount Olympus, and various other weather stations located in the greater Thessaloniki area.